Florida Personal Injury Lawyers
If you were involved in any incident that caused you injury because of the negligence of another person in Florida, then you need the services of a Florida personal injury lawyer. But there are some things that you can do yourself during or immediately after the incident to help your lawyer settle your case as quickly and fairly as possible.
First, you must write down as accurately as you can everything that happened and what led to the accident. Write down the personal information of the witnesses and the officer who attended to the scene of the accident. Remember not to talk to the insurance agent of the offender without the first contacting a Florida personal injury lawyer. Make it known to the possible offender that you are intending to file a case against him, and make sure that the evidences you need to prove the incident are secure.
What to expect from Florida personal injury lawyers
In the state of Florida, you would need to prove who the negligent party really is before you can collect any claims. Just because you were the one injured does not mean that you will not be held liable. If it is proven that you were negligent in one way or another leading to your injury, the amount you can claim would substantially be reduced.
Your Florida personal injury lawyer, through his expertise, will help you prove to the court that the other party was negligent, and that you deserve to be compensated for any physical or emotional harm he or she has caused. If you are partially at fault, the maximum amount you can claim could be around $1,000,000, but if you are not at fault at all, the amount could be doubled to $2,000,000.
If proven at fault, the offender would be liable for: your past, present and future medical expenses, wages lost from work, your property damages, incidental expenses, costs arising from any permanent disability or injury you might suffer, and costs of emotional distress to you and your family.
Your Florida personal injury lawyer can defend you for as long as four years. You will want to file a lawsuit before the statute of limitation elapses if no settlement can be made between you and the offender.